Simple Tips That Helped Me Deal With Depression (Pandemic Version)

Simple Tips That Helped Me Deal With Depression (Pandemic Version)

Mental Health Comes First

I have this problem where I'm constantly comparing myself to successful people. I blame the media, society, and even my parents sometimes. We are conditioned that any minute not spent on advancing our careers is a minute wasted. I find this to be a toxic mindset, although it is somewhat true.

Let me tell you this: Your mind's ability to solve problems is diminished if you have mental health issues.

Stop studying [insert topic] and worrying about acing interviews. It will cause unnecessary stress and will lead to poor performance. I apologize if it sounded harsh, but in order to be efficient, we need to take care of ourselves first.

Here are some simple tips that help me cope with my mind:

You might have heard a few of these tips from thousands of people.

Creating smaller goals

By breaking down your goal into smaller tasks, you'll have an easier time completing your main goal. We start contemplating what to do first and it can sometimes overwhelm us to the point of inaction. For me, I start to get anxious when I approach a certain task. This is where I start to meditate.

Meditation

You'll have to be patient with this one because there are many types like breathing and visual meditations. Find what's best for you and don't be afraid of trying new techniques of meditation. According to Dr. K, meditating 20 minutes, five days a week for 8 weeks will show clinically significant benefit. However, it varies from person to person. What works best for me are breathing meditations early in the morning, after doing yoga.

Exercise

I can't stress this enough. Regular exercise can help ease depression and anxiety by releasing feel-good endorphins that can enhance your sense of well-being. It can be as simple as a walk to the park (Social distance of course) to a 30-minute workout. Any form of physical activity will do the trick. I know that exercise might seem the last thing you want to do. But, once you start exercising, it can make a big difference.

Supplements (Not necessary)

During the pandemic, we are locked up in our houses almost 24/7. Therefore, we do not get enough natural sunlight for our bodies. From my experience, taking vitamin D and other supplements helped regulate my mood and ward off depression. I would say to do your own research and see what works for your body.

Take care of your mind, you only have one of it

All in all, the purpose of this article is a reminder to myself and to the public that it is okay to work at your own pace. We're currently living in unprecedented times and it can definitely take a toll on one's well-being. Depression is unfortunately an incurable disease, and I believe it's something that we learn to live with throughout our lives. Make sure to contact your loved ones and tell them that you miss them. Talking to people you trust definitely helps alleviate "bottled up" emotions. Everything will be alright.